Toronto, Ontario, Canada
From 2004 to 2007 Benson Steel fabricated and erected the steel structure for the transformation of the Art Gallery of Ontario AGO, by world-renowned architect Frank Gehry.
Established in 1900 as the Art Museum of Toronto, it was renamed to the Art Gallery of Ontario, in 1966.
The architectural expansion enlarged the AGO by 97,000 square feet and increased art-viewing space by 47%.
In March 2023 benson CEO Stephen benson, toured the museum renewing great memories of a job well done.
16 years later, this building still today is one of the most beautiful and iconic structures in the city.
The Art Gallery of Ontario is one of the largest museums in North America, attracting approximately one million visitors annually. The AGO Collection of more than 120,000 works of art, ranges from cutting-edge contemporary art to significant works by indigenous and Canadian Artists. The AGO presents wide-ranging exhibitions, including solo exhibitions and acquisitions by diverse and underrepresented artists from around the world.
Highlights of the redesign of the AGO:
• The tinted titanium and glass south wing, featuring floor to ceiling windows with panoramic views of downtown.
• Extensive glazing on both the north and south façades, allowing visitors to experience the surrounding cityscape from the gallery interior.
• The integration of natural light throughout the building, including the glass roof over Walker Court and the light-filled walkway around the gallery's upper perimeter.